#GerifiedPH: Millennial Moms Ph’s #MomTribe Meet-Up for First-Time Moms

It takes a village to raise a child.

15626219_1503985906281431_3404314513249935418_o

The quote above was an old African proverb originated in Igbo and Yoruba now commonly known as Nigeria; it depicts the importance of an entire community in its active role in contributing to the rearing of one’s child.

Photo on the left: #Dabibot munching on a peeled carrot. Instead of eating chips and deep fries, toddlers can munch on finger food like carrots, cucumbers and parsley. Just make sure that the toddler is always under an adult supervision.

One of my determined goals when I was a first time parent, was to breastfed my child exclusively for the first six months of his life and then, let him self-wean. It was a success. That is what I’m doing now for my second child. But my first-time mom journey wasn’t all wet kisses and tight hugs, and I can’t tell it is now that I’m a mom of two little gentlemen. I still have a lot to learn and I’m opening my mind to it; aside from wet kisses and tight hugs, I’m so ready for that still-hot poop and sour pukes, especially now that I got a millennial tribe behind my back.

Millennial Moms are mothers who were born between 1978 and 1994.

***

The quote above was what came into my mind the moment I learned about this offline meet up – a transition into the modern era that Millennial Moms Philippines summed up to be hashtag #MomTribe.

Millennial Moms Ph

Millennial Moms Ph provides an offline avenue for moms to SHARE, INSPIRE and CONNECT with other moms in a workshop or seminar type of events  where they advocate to help and teach millennials parents to be good in keeping their homes and family in a good state – just like how women of tribes do to cultivate and nourish the village. Hence, moms would love to work inside the home.

  • To be good homemakers
  • To survive when maids are not around
  • To train and guide helpers in the household

#MomTribe

The #MomTribe Meet Up event held last June 24 was very laid back. Breastfeeding moms are everywhere. Crying babies and laughing running toddlers was a norm and no one judged anyone.

19396684_1441211965922059_4998812595384145849_n.jpgOn our way to the event, Dabibot fell asleep after breastfeeding.

Everyone was welcomed and understood. I feel like I belong… I didn’t bring my toddlers with me because the hubby is gracious enough to make pasyal the kids in the mall while I’m in the event but I like how moms with crying babies for the first time will not look others in the eyes apologetically – I wished I brought Dabibot.

I love how everyone was whispering that the baby’s is cute, so chubby. Humbly excusing and proudly excused were the exchanges of the conversation – babywearing, using strollers, breastfeeding, bottle-fed, mix feeding, using disposable diapers, cloth diaper users. Just a smile and a nod, no mommy shaming.

Everyone was dog-eyed seeing the babies cue or smile. And everyone gasp when a baby smacked her face on the table.

Finally, an avenue for moms.

The event was hosted by millennial mom behind the Millennial Moms Ph, Ms. Dette Zulueta. She introduced us to the Mom Tribe Community, its advocacy and its sponsors that made the event possible.

Then we were grouped into four. The Super Moms, the Hot Mommas, the Anata Hearts and the Wonder WoMoms (our group). We introduced ourselves to each other and talked about our backgrounds.

19437661_1441201149256474_7835238445709402408_n.jpgMommy Rich, Mommy Amy and Mommy Kath during our Introduce Yourself Activity.

In our group, one’s a nurse, two are full-time moms, two are mom-prenuers and one corporate mom. Like a good mix, we learned and picked something from the other. It was really a refreshing intimate conversation for me after years of only talking to the drooling infants – I’m a work at home mom, afterall.

I didn’t get the chance to get a decent photo, the lactating treats from SugarSensationsPh went down the throat in less than a minute. I saved the lolly for later.

19399047_1441200352589887_3879853455499192201_n.jpg

Aside from the group activities, Asian Parenting held a human bingo.

19424160_1441200379256551_2137662156873378762_n.jpg

One of the things I learned the hard way is that when you are young, you are idealistic, but as you age, you should embrace the reality as well. One of the things I do to fight against the pressure of idealism is by practicing Stoicism – the art of not giving a care to people and circumstances that doesn’t help or improve you.

I never had a night life. Other moms in the group also has a limited social life after having the baby – and like a said earlier, everyone was refreshed on finally talking to another adult after a year of baby talking. Personally, one of the things I can’t do now is to travel alone. I don’t have anyone to leave the kids with and I’m a breastfeeding momma who hates pumping – add that to the equation and you’ll end up knowing I breastfeed even during my site inspection visits.

Usually, just an encouragement and affirmation that it’s okay, everything will fall into place is all I need to keep on striving and moving forward.

Makansutra

The #MomTribe held last Saturday and the future #MomTribe events was and will be held at Makansutra, 2nd floor of SM Megamall.

It rained prizes and gifts from sponsors like PLDT Home Fibr, Bite Lock, Smart Steps, Baby Company and a sample giveaways and live demo from Pampers.

More photos of the event here.

#MomTribe Meet-Up Schedule for the next few months are as follows:

August 12, September 16 and October 14, 2:00PM to 4:00PM at Makansutra, SM Megamall. Stay tuned on their official Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/MillennialMomsPH/

and join the tribe here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/millennialmomsph/ 

Other Social Networking Site:

Blog – www.millennialmomsph.com
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/millennialmomsph/

Leave a Reply

